menu close menu

2020-21 Advent Reflections & Christmas Traditions

 Learn about the Tradition of the Crèche and

Enjoy the Various Creches Shared by Our Faith Community

NEW! The Tradition of Las Posadas

NEW! The 12 Days of Christmas

 

 

NEW! The Story of Christmas

 

 

First Week of Advent 2021

Sunday, November 28 – shared by Jeff Lipschultz

Monday, November 29 – shared by Valerie V. Mayuga, M.D.

Tuesday, November 30 – shared by Dennis Goodman

Wednesday, December 1 – shared by Dan Werner

Thursday, December 2 – shared by Holy Name Cathedral Parishioner K.L.

Friday, December 3

Saturday, December 4 – shared by Ricardo Sanchez

Second Week of Advent 2021

Sunday, December 5 – shared by Nick Sauer

Monday, December 6 – shared by Allison Rominger

Tuesday, December 7 – shared by W. V.

Wednesday, December 8 – shared by Ken Ortega

Thursday, December 9 – Fr. Richard Gabuzda, from 2015 Creighton University

Friday, December 10 – shared by Christine E. Lawless, M.D. 

Saturday, December 11 – shared by Linda Nardone

 

Third Week of Advent 2021

Sunday, December 12 – shared by Kathy M. Bridges

Monday, December 13 – shared by Kathy Leonard

Tuesday, December 14 – shared by Mary Piantek

Wednesday, December 15 – shared by Mark Teresi

Thursday, December 16 – shared by Fr. Joseph P. Tito

Friday, December 18 – shared by Anita Zodo

Saturday, December 19 – shared by Jenna S.

 

Fourth Week of Advent 2021

Sunday, December 19 – shared by Kate Hugar

Monday, December 20 – shared by Michael Bucior

Tuesday, December 21 – shared by Luke Minton

Wednesday, December 22 – shared by Julie Yacopino

Thursday, December 23 – shared by Eileen Knight

Friday, December 24 – shared by Rachel Ferrigan

Merry Christmas!

Week One of Advent 2020

Day #1: Sunday, November 29 Reflection by Devon Bezy

Day #2: Monday, November 30 Reflection by Kathleen Wheeler

Day #3: Tuesday, December 1 Reflection by Stephanie McIntyre

Day #4: Wednesday, December 2 Reflection by Grace Villamora

Day #5: Thursday, December 3 Reflection by Anh Tran     

Day #6: Friday, December 4 Reflection by Kathy Bridges

Day #7: Saturday, December 5 Reflection by Sherrie Travis

Week Two of Advent 2020

Day #8: Sunday, December 6 Reflection by Angelina Rossi

Day #9: Monday, December 7 Reflection by Barbara Ramberg

Day #10: Tuesday, December 8 Reflection by Darren Milanowicz

Day #11: Wednesday, December 9 Reflection by Lisa Mettler

Day #12: Thursday, December 10 Reflection by Christine Lawless

Day #13: Friday, December 11 Reflection by Caitlin Manley

Day #14: Saturday, December 12 Reflection by Toby Gussman

Week Three of Advent 2020

Day #15: Sunday, December 13 Reflection by Donna Ciszewski

Day #16: Monday, December 14 Reflection by Joyce Gallagher

Day #17: Tuesday, December 15 Reflection by Kate Hugar

Day #18: Wednesday, December 16 Reflection by Michael Bucior

Day #19: Thursday, December 17 Reflection by Michael Piccatto, Jr.

Day #20: Friday, December 18 Reflection by Julie Yacopino

Day #21: Saturday, December 19 Reflection by David Puelz

Week Four of Advent 2020

Day #22: Sunday, December 20 Reflection by Jeffrey Lipschultz

Day #23: Monday, December 21 Reflection by Robin L. Brown

Day #24: Tuesday, December 22 Reflection by Visnja Gardner

Day #25: Wednesday, December 23 Reflection by Pearl Gonzales

Day #26: Thursday, December 24 Reflection by Gina Piscitello

Holy Name Cathedral Advent Videos & Traditions

Click on any of the images below

to see a video or read about these wonderful Christmas traditions!

Enjoy the Story of St. Nicholas as told by our very own Santa: Something to share with the young and the young at heart! CLICK HERE

Creches Around the Cathedral:

We welcome photos of your family’s creche.

Just click on the graphic below to submit.

Virtual Tour of Historic Chicago Sacred Spaces:

Missed the tour? Just click here or on the graphic below to watch an online replay.

The password is T!^3=F9Z

December 13 @ 10:00am: Virtual Christmas Caroling